Ladies in the Rain

Ladies in the Rain

I just thought I would add a wee photo of our efforts to play the Invitation at the weekend!

Monsoon at the Ladies Invitation!

The ladies welcomed our visitors and made a gallant effort to play today, however after 3 holes nearly all of the greens were under water and the hooter sounded.

All was not lost though. We went into the clubhouse and enjoyed a superb buffet served up by the catering team.

Unfortunately, it isn’t feasible to reschedule this event as the calendar is full, so fingers crossed for next year.

Ladies Invitation Today!


You may have noticed the inclement weather! Here is the plan….

Please turn up. If the weather improves, we will play. If the weather does not improve we will have a quiz in the clubhouse followed by an earlier meal.

If you are not planning to attend, please telephone the shop and let them know.

Thank you, Evelyn H

Seniors Championships Draw 2017

George Inglis and Bob Bee made the draw in front of an attentive audience in the Clubhouse for the Seniors Championships knock-out matches to be played on Monday, 18 September 2017. The draws are as follows;

A Division – George Anderson Hunter Trophy

11.00  Ian Doig receives a bye, now plays at 11.00 on the Tuesday

11.07  Bob Bee v Neil Plenderleith

11.15  Graham Roberts v Steven Bickmore

11.22  Willie Harper v Alan Richardson

11.30  Stephen Richardson v Malcom Stevenson

11.37  Dougie Russell v Bert Watson

11.45  Peter Lynch v George Eddington

11.52  Brian O’Neil v Harry Burns


B Division – Hugh J. Lawrie Quaich

12.00  Kenny Baird v Andy Rodgers

12.07  Brian Gorman v Charlie Love

12.15  John Hughes v Gordon Dickson

12.22  Gordon Barr v Willie Love

12.30  Brain Watson v Derek Reid

12.37  George Inglis v Jimmy Sneddon

12.45  Eric Millar v Tom Whitecross

12.52  Derek Gifford v Douglas Hewat

Lady Captain’s Open Day

Ladies, we are looking forward to this event on Thursday 3rd August. Please let it be a dry day. The organisation of the day is progressing well and I ask the following …

If you would like to donate a prize to the raffle, please place it in the pink container in the Ladies Locker Room

If you would like to volunteer for a duty on the day – Registration desk, Selling Raffle tickets or Serving in the Cava Tent – please add your name to the list displayed in the Ladies Locker Room

Catering News – New Menu and Catering Hours

From Tuesday 25th July a new Bar Menu will be available together with extended catering hours Tuesday through Thursday of 11am until 5pm.

From Monday 31st July full catering will be available on Monday’s throughout August , 11am until 5pm.

We will have further announcements regarding catering soon.

Hopefully members and visitors will support our caterer both through the week and at weekends and feel able to use our splendid dining room.

New Bar Menu pdf


Family Foursomes – Date Change

This year’s Family Foursomes competition will now take place in August.

An Entry Form has been posted on the Mixed notice board (alcove at bottom of the stairs next to Ladies locker room) for those members wishing to play.

Closing date for entries is 30 July with dates of Thursday 24th August at 5pm for the Semi-finals and Friday 25th August at 5pm for the Final. Any preliminary matches can be played at a convenient time to all players between 1st August and 23rd August.

Lothians GA – Champion of Champions

Well done to John Hunter representing Kingston on making  the Champion of Champions quarter final having successfully beat S. Bendoris of Bank of Scotland at the 19th . He is now due to play Ian Dickson (Mortonhall) at home before the end of July. We wish John well in his endeavours and hope that he is successful in his tie.

Clubhouse Computer

Members should note that after a short period of repair the clubhouse computer located at the bar is now back in use. Tee bookings can be made from here using your normal login details. The Club website can also be viewed from here informing members of the latest news and information from the club. The Club apologises for any inconvenience the loss of the computer has caused.

Ping Scottish Mixed Foursomes Championship

The qualifying round for the Ping Scottish Mixed Foursomes Championship was played on Saturday with Claire Hogg and David Rennie the leading qualifiers with a stableford score of 40 points.

In second place was Evelyn Hogg and Alan Richardson with 36 points and although not many played and the weather could have been kinder all those participating enjoyed themselves.

Claire and David will be entered into the Championship and if their score is one of the top 40 scores from all participating clubs in Scotland they will be invited to play at Gleneagles in September.

The qualifying round was also used for entry into the Save the Children’s Charity Competition at Glenbervie and Claire and David will represent Liberton at that event, again in September.

This years qualifying round was arranged relatively late which had an effect on the numbers participating but hopefully next year we can find a suitable date within our busy fixture list which will encourage more members to participate.