John Hunter wins Turnhouse Open

Congratulations to John Hunter on winning the Turnhouse Open last week.

No mean feat given this tournament involves a 36-hole stroke play qualifying with the top 16 players playing match-play.

John had to beat three Turnhouse members on his way to the final where he beat Robert Macllwraith of Swanston 3/2.

Well done John.


2018 Seniors Championship draw

Below is the 2018 Seniors Championship draw.

The draw was made by George Ingles and Ian Seath and the below ties will be played on
Monday 13th August with the first tee time 4.00pm.

The quarter-finals will be played on Tuesday 14th, semi-finals on Thursday 16th and the finals on Friday 17th.

Draw sheets showing all tee times will be posted both on Master Scoreboard and Notice Boards.

Seniors Championship – first round.

Harry Burns v Peter Lynch
Neil Plenderleith v Bert Watson

Steven Richardson v Grant Russell
Malcolm Stevenson v Brian O’Neil

Gary Scott v David Rennie
Billy Harper v Jimmy Mitchell

Alan Richardson v Douglas Hewat
George Wither v Ian Doig


Seniors “B” Division Championship – first round

Ian Kay v Andy Prior
Derek Barber v Colin Peach

Gordon O’Malley v John Stewart
Gordon Smith v Willie McLean

Charlie Love v Gordon Dickson
Derek Reid v Gordon Barr

Robert Ross v Michael Lynch
Alan Simpson v Charlie Dailly

Open Mixed Foursomes – Results

Full results:

Handicap Stroke-play
1st – net 64.5 (BIH) – Zoe Meldrum and James Grant – C K Murphy Trophy + £50 voucher each + £40 sweep
2nd – net 64.5 – Morag Russell and Stephen Russell – £25 voucher each + £40 sweep
3rd – net 65.5 – Alison Morton and Mike Morton – £15 voucher each. (Pat Stables and Steven Richardson £30 sweep)

Scratch Stroke-play
1st – 74 – Pat Stables and Steven Richardson – £50 voucher each + £50 sweep
2nd – 77 – Jill McLean and Keith Millar – £25 voucher each + £30 sweep
3rd – 81 – Vivian Harrower and Mac Harrower – £15 voucher each + £10 sweep (Alison Morton and Mike Morton also £10 sweep)

Winners – Jill McLean and Keith Millar – Press Charities Cup + £50 voucher each
R/up – Jaci Moriarty and David Dalgleish – £25 voucher each

Winners – Lyn Galloway and Stan Langa – Newington House Trophy + £50 voucher each
R/up – Jacqui Louden and Ricky Hay – £25 voucher each

There were four 2’s each receiving £33. (R Marshall/K Craig, H Braid/P Braid, N MacKay/T Lang and D Lawson/D Lawson)

Should you not have already received your voucher, sweep monies or 2’s money please collect from Iain Seath our Professional or contact Iain direct on 0131 664 3009 to arrange.

Open Mixed Foursomes

Congratulations to Zoe Meldrum and James Grant from Kingsknowe GC on winning the C K Murphy Trophy today with a best handicap score of 64.5 (BIH).

From today the top four scratch qualifiers and four handicap qualifiers will play match-play tomorrow, Sunday 1st July, for the Press Charities Cup and Newington House Trophy respectively.

The draw.

Scratch – Press Charities Cup

10.00am – Jaci Moriarty & David Dalgleish v Sheila Keith & Alan Richardson

10.10am – Pat Stables & Steve Richardson v Jill McLean & Keith Miller


Handicap – Newington House Trophy

10.20am – Rosalyn Marshall & Ken Craig v Lyn Galloway & Stan Langa

10.30am – Trish Lang & Neil MacKay v Jacqui Louden & Ricky Hay

Finals at 2.00pm and 2.15pm

Many thanks to our professional, Iain Seath, for all his help today in the running of another very successful competition. To Ian and our Secretary, David Doig, for their work before today in organising this competition, especially in the last few days. To the Greenkeeping staff for, again, the excellent condition of the course. To Denys Flaherty and Tommy Paterson for starting all the competitors and the catering and bar staff for looking after all the players before and after their golf.

Full results will be on our website and Facebook page on completion of the competition.




Entries for this popular event have been very good, however, we still have limited availability for our Mixed Open Competition on Saturday, 30 June 2018.

Any one interested in playing during this spell of fantastic weather should contact the Club Professional on 0131 664 1056.

Entries are £15 per couple which can be paid on the day of the competition.

New “Family Foursomes” – Sunday 8th July from 1pm

The format of the “Family Foursomes” competition has been changed this year in an attempt to open up the event to more members.

Participation in this once popular event has over many years dwindled to only a very few members. One reason may be the low number of family members who are both Liberton GC members.

To address this and to hopefully reinvigorate this competition the format will be a one round, pairs, best-ball stableford competition which members of Liberton GC can play with a close family member who is either a member of Liberton or another club and who hold a national handicap. Handicap allowance for the competition will be ¾ each player.

Should you wish to play for the Anderson Trophy in what we hope will be a very popular event you can enter by way of our website, please go to the competitions page, click on “Enter a Competition”, login to BRS and click the link to the competition. Please note that although you will be entering against a time, a draw will be made and your time will likely change.

Competition entry opens Thursday 21st June at 7pm.

 Last years winners, Brian O’Neil and Lee Hamilton